The Meetings Show
Emirates Old Trafford
Smart Group - Electric Xmas

Winners revealed at Menopause Friendly Employer Awards 2023


The winners of this year’s Menopause Friendly Employer Awards have been announced. Hosted by Henpicked: Menopause in the Workplace and powered by headline sponsors HSBC UK, first direct, M&S Bank and Peppy, the industry-recognised Menopause Friendly Employer Awards were presented by broadcaster Louise Minchin on Thursday September 14, 2023 at the Royal Lancaster Hotel. Over 350 guests gathered there while another 250 joined virtually from across the country.

Also in attendance was the Rt Hon Caroline Nokes MP, Chair of the Women and Equalities Committee who called on all employers to follow through their menopause pledges and policies with training, education, employee resources and networks, menopause champions and physical adjustments.

Now in its second year, the 2023 Menopause Friendly Employer Awards recognise organisations and individuals whose commitment and determination have succeeded in providing support, solutions and resources that normalise menopause in the workplace. Two new categories this year celebrated the work of SMEs and organisations fully embracing diversity and inclusion.

“The winners this year came from a diverse range of organisations, large and small, including a government department, high street bank and NHS organisation alongside a football club, university and telecoms giant,” says Deborah Garlick, CEO of Henpicked: Menopause in the Workplace. “I was delighted to hear from the Menopause Friendly Independent Panel that not only was the standard exceptionally high, but the creativity, energy and commitment from employers was outstanding.

The impact menopause friendly employers have achieved impressed the judges

“The Independent Panel was looking particularly for the impact achieved within the workplace. This reinforces the point that just having a policy in place is not enough and it’s only through action and continued commitment that impact will be felt and the lived experience of menopause in the workplace changed for good.”

Notable among the winners were the number of traditionally male-dominated businesses, public services and smaller organisations. Once again, the courage, conviction and commitment shown by individuals entering the Community Award and the Carolyn Lazurus Award were immensely moving. The standard was extremely high leading the Independent Panel to give some Highly Commended awards for outstanding achievements and naming joint winners in the Community Award as they simply couldn’t choose between them.

“I’ve said it before and will keep on saying it: a menopause policy going dusty in a drawer won’t cut it: employers must put it in practice, make it live and breathe,” says the Rt Hon Caroline Nokes MP, Chair of the Women and Equalities Committee. “It takes action, commitment and often a great deal of courage to step up to change the lived experience of menopause in the workplace. The Menopause Friendly member organisation commit to sharing their insight and best practice with other employers. I would urge any business that doesn’t yet have a successful workplace strategy in place to get in touch and learn from others to fast-track becoming a menopause friendly employer.”

The winners of the 2023 Menopause Friendly Employer Awards are:

Menopause Friendly Employer of the Year

Menopause Friendly Employer of the Year – Thames Valley Police

Small Menopause Friendly Employer of the Year – Marine Management Organisation

Highly Commended Bristol Myers Squibb


Thames Valley Police won the Large Menopause Friendly Employer of the Year category. Photo by Toby Phillips

Most Inclusive Menopause Friendly Employer

Joined Up Care Derbyshire

Most Open Workplace


Best Engagement Campaign

Department for Education 

Most Menopause Friendly Environment



QVC won the Most Menopause Friendly Environment category. Photo by Toby Phillips

Best Trained Workforce

Bristol Myers Squibb

Best Training Initiative

BT Group

Highly Commended – Dentons

Best Support Group


Highly Commended – Nuclear Decommissioning Authority

Most Supportive Partner

Huddersfield Town Football Club

Community Award – joint winners

Paula Rix – Medical Protection Society

Gill Thomas – Nuclear Decommissioning Authority


Maureen Montague, University of Greenwich, won the Carolyn Lazarus Award. Here with Louise Minchin. Photo by Toby Phillips.

The Carolyn Lazurus Award

Maureen Montague – University of Greenwich